Attorneys are required to have 24 hours of legal education every two years to continue to be licensed to practice law in Ohio. As of January 1, 1998, The Commission of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) has adopted new CLE requirements. Section 3 (A) (1) of Rule now reads as follows:
Each attorney authorized to practice law in this state shall complete and report, on a form provided by the Commission, at least twenty-four credit hours of continuing legal education for each two-year reporting period. At least two and one-half (2.5) of the twenty-four credit hours of instruction shall be related to professional conduct and shall include the following:
- Thirty minutes of instruction on substance abuse, including causes, prevention, detection, and treatment alternatives;
- Sixty minutes of instruction related to the Code of Professional Responsibility (Ethics); Sixty minutes of instruction related to professionalism (including A Lawyer's Creed and A Lawyer's Aspirational Ideals adopted by the Supreme Court.)
- Thereafter, attorneys whose last name begins with letters A through L shall file their report by January 31 in even numbered years. Attorneys whose last name begins with letters M through Z shall file their report by January 31 in odd numbered years.
Attorneys who fail to meet the requirements of the rule may be charged a late filing fee of up to $500 and face other sanctions, including a public reprimand, probation or suspension from practice.
Specific questions should be addressed to the Ohio Commission on CLE: 614.644.5470.