Attorneys to Become Notaries
Application procedure for an attorney notary commission:
Must be a resident of Lucas county—or have a business address in Lucas county—or be a resident of another state with a business address in Lucas county and licensed by the state to practice law in Ohio;
- Must be at least 18 years old;
- Must have Supreme Court number;
- $70.00 application fee cash or check. (We do not accept credit cards.)
Attorneys do not need to take the Notary exam, but must complete a Notary application. Once the commission is received from the Ohio Secretary of State, it must be recorded at the Lucas County Common Pleas Court, 700 Adams Street, at the clerk's office. The attorney may use the notary commission when it is recorded.
An attorney's commission is good for life, as long as the attorney is registered in good standing to practice law with the Ohio Supreme Court. Download Attorney Stamp Order Form.